That Muri Orchestrated The Disqualifications Of 12 Aspirants From Kogi East Is A Product Of Falsehood – Says Faruk Adejoh

Director of Media Communications, Faruk Adejoh Audu, for the Social Democratic Party ( SDP ) Campaign organization network, for Kogi November 11th 2023 gubernatorial election has said Muritala Yakubu Ajaka, did not orchestrate the disqualification of the twelve All Progressieve Congress’s ( APC ) Aspirants from Kogi East in 2019 as being circulated by the carriers of falsehood.

Faruk Adejoh Audu, disclosed this in an article titled ” The Fast But Futile Flight of Falsehood”….CONTINUE READING

In a well articulated article, he writes:
” Falsehood is a fast traveller but no matter the distance it covers while truth is still sleeping it is easily and cheaply overtaken. Unfortunately those who invent and spin the wheels of falsehood hardly remember thIs fact of nature.

For long certain persons have been bandying the very bland and dense lie that Alhaji Muritala Yakubu Ajaka personally disqualified some persons particularly from Kogi East from the APC Governorship Primaries contest in 2019. They spin these lie convinced that the audience they target to misinform have no capacity to exercise their intellect to sift fact from cheap fable.

1. To start with the APC Primary Elections held in Kogi State on August 29, 2019, while the APC Screening Committee chaired by Governor Hope Uzordima announced the disqualification of 12 aspirants three days earlier specifically on August 26, 2019.

They are:
Twelve aspirants were disqualified for various reasons. They include the two sons of late Abubakar Audu — Mohammed Audu and Mustapha Audu. They were both disqualified on grounds of invalid nomination form and not being financial members of the party.

Others include Usman Jubril (retired Navy Admiral); Seidu Ogah (a professor); Yakubu Mohammed (journalist), Hadiza Ibrahim, Bashir Gegu, Sani Lulu, Tunde Irukera.

2. Governor Mai Mala Buni, Ajaka’s boss became Chairman of APC interim Caretaker Committee on June 25, 2020 . That was one day less than 10 clear months after these candidates were disqualified.

Ajaka according to the peddlers of this dishonesty gained so much power to do and undo at the APC National Secretariat because his boss and benefactor became the Chairman of the Party. Before then he was an aide of the Buni based in Damaturu Yobe State with his boss.

How then was it possible for a man who allegedly acquired “absolute power” only after his boss became Chairman in June 2020 able to travel back in time to disqualify in August 2019 candidates 10 months before he acquired the fabled power to sit down and single handedly disqualified candidates? !!!

3. And did anyone really notice that this fable of Muri disqualified Igala candidates started trending about two months ago only after several Committees set up by respected Kogi East Stakeholders returned almost unanimously with verdicts declaring Ajaka the consensus candidate?

So for almost four whole years Ajaka disqualified all Igala candidates and non of the said candidates, their supporters or crony ever accused him of doing so until he became the unanimous consensus candidate?

The obvious truth is that this falsehood is invented to disparage and demarket Ajaka by those who could neither get the nod of the people or the leaders who hearkened to the desire of the people to declare the official candidate of Kogi East Senatorial District.

But the real truth of the story of disqualification is in public record. The Nation Newspaper aptly reported what transpired on August 27,2019 as follows:


THE All Progressives Congress (APC) screening committee for the Kogi State governorship primary has disqualified 12 of the 16 aspirants from running for the party’s ticket.

The party generated about N363 million from the 16 aspirants, including Governor Yahaya Bello and three members of the Prince Abubakar Audu family.

In the report signed by the six members of the screening committee headed by Senator Hope Uzodinma and submitted to the National Working Committee, a copy of which was obtained by The Nation, only four of the 16 aspirants were cleared.

Apart from Bello, who was cleared by the committee, other aspirants that got the nod are Abubakar Bashir, Ekele Aishat Blessing and a serving member of the House of Representatives, Hassan Abdullahi

Each of the aspirants paid N20 million for nomination form and N2.5 million for expression of interest form to contest the primary.

The four-page document states the reasons why each of the aspirants were disqualified are ranging from non-membership of the party, discrepancies in age, invalid nomination among others.

Among those disqualified are former Chief of Naval Staff Admiral Usman Jibrin, former President of the Nigeria Football Federation Sani Lulu Abdullahi and former Director-General of the Consumer Protection Council, Babatunde Irukera.

Three members of the Prince Abubakar Audu family, Mohammed Abubakar Audu, Mustapha Mona Audu and their uncle, Prince Yahaya Audu were barred.

Those disqualified and reasons for their disqualification are listed below:

Prof. Mohammed Seidu Onailu for parading two different dates of birth. The aspirant admits to it and has no reasonable explanation to give; not a financial member of the party and incomplete nomination form;

*Usman Oyibe Jibrin: Discrepancy in the date of birth. One, 16/09/1959 and on his passport, 16/09/1960. The aspirants admitted the error and apologised; not a financial member of the party, no evidence of support to the party and invalid membership card;*

Mustapha Mona Audu: Invalid nomination process; not a financial member of the party. No evidence of financial contribution to the party, certificate of birth or declaration of age not attached;

Hadiza Iyoma Ibrahim: No supporting document/credentials, buy only police extract, invalid nomination by members of the party and not a financial member of the party;

Yahaya Odidi Audu: Invalid declaration of age and not a financial member of the party;

Sani Lulu Abdullahi: Not a financial member of the party and not registered in his ward;

Gen. Patrick A Adenu Akpa: Unsigned and invalid nomination form and not a financial member of the party;

Engr. Danlami Umar Mohammed: Not a financial member of the party, invalid party membership card and invalid nomination;

Yakubu Mohammed: He was disqualified for not being a financial member of the party and invalid nomination;

Babatunde Ayo Kunle Irukera: Invalid declaration of age, spent less than one year in the party and without a waiver, academic credentials and supporting documents not attached, a committed party member and nomination form not duly signed;

Rukkaya Ibrahim: Incomplete nomination form, no PVC, invalid declaration of age and not a committed party member; and
Mohammed Abubakar Audu: Invalid nomination form, not a financial member.

The report added that “the committee received separate sets of petitions against some of the aspirants and are hereby attached. The screening was concluded at about 9.30pm.

“We thank and appreciate the APC National Working Committee led by Comrade Adams Oshiomhole for the confidence reposed on the chairman and member of the committee and hope that the committee’s recommendations will bring peace, harmony and unity that will ensure the victory of the party at the November 16 general election.”

The report was signed by Uzodinma Senator Abdullahi Gumel, Bernard Mikko, Stella Okotete, Major-General Cecil Esekhaigbe (retd) and Dr. Adamu Abba, who served as the committee secretary…CONTINUE READING